2. Disability Discrimination Act

The Disability Discrimination Act 1992 came after Australia signed the United Nations’ Declarations on the Rights of Mentally Retarded Persons and the Rights of Disabled Persons. This Act makes it unlawful to discriminate against people because of their disability.

Disability includes:
●  physical
●  intellectual
●  psychiatric
●  sensory
●  neurological
●  learning disability
●  physical disfigurement
●  presence in the body of a disease-carrying organism, such as the HIV virus.
For more information contact the Australian Human Rights Commission.

3. Human Rights

Human rights recognise the inherent value of each person, regardless of background, where we live, what we look like, what we think or what we believe.
They are based on principles of dignity, equality and mutual respect, which are shared across cultures, religions and philosophies. They are about being treated fairly, treating others fairly and having the ability to make genuine choices in our daily lives.
Respect for human rights is the cornerstone of strong communities in which everyone can make a contribution and feel included.

4. Safeguarding the rights of people from abuse

Focus on rights, target abuse
For more information click https://www.nds.org.au/resources/zero-tolerance